We promise no intrusive ads, Please help keep the community alive
Consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker / add to whitelist / purchasing VIP.

Houston, we have a problem!!!

The Compensator

I'm no expert, not even close, infact I'm an idiot. Where am I?

Umm, I would check the fan, make sure it's still spinning, not clogged by dust. How old is it? It may be replacement time, if you don't it could go bang (mine did earlier this year) and I'm guessing that could hurt other components. Luckily PSU's are fairly cheap and easy to replace!

http://i.imgur.com/pZBagjc.gif

Finally someone replied.

It's not dusty at all; nothing that could stop the fans. I'll take a detailed look at in the morning, there are some screws even so I'll try to disassemble it and hopefully I won't screw up more things.

It is 5 years old, I believe. Greenpower-something 550W.

My pleasure :cheeese:

Yeah, take a look, you might be able to figure out what's gone wrong with a "visual inspection" :lol: Mine was about 5 when it went kaboom, so I'd take a lookout for some PSUs in the sales :p

Dad needs it as soon as possible. :(

Guess a 500W one is not enough for the pc, is it? Gainward says my GPU needs 550W.

--- Post Updated ---

Found a Corsair CX500 - even though it is only a 500W PSU instead of the old 550W, the specs are the same or better. I've read that 12V rails are important as they power the CPU & GPU. CX500 has 38A on the 12V rails while the old Fortron PSU has 36A. It is cheaper, too.

Now that I have got my lovely laptop, the PC will not be used for gaming anymore. Just normal work & Internet stuff.

Dad needs it as soon as possible. :(

Guess a 500W one is not enough for the pc, is it? Gainward says my GPU needs 550W.

--- Post Updated ---