We promise no intrusive ads, Please help keep the community alive
Consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker / add to whitelist / purchasing VIP.

So you finished Portal 2...

Ryzza5

You enjoyed the story, the voice-acting, the puzzles, the 'aha' moments, and you thought co-op was brilliant. You even started playing it a second time, getting extra achievements, but as epic as it might've been, the experience was wearing off a bit.

Now would be a great time, then, to visit thinkingwithportals.com to get some new Single Player or Co-op maps to bring back those joyful experiences (well, at least the puzzle solving and aha moment ones) :)

A friend and I downloading some of the co-op maps with 4 or 5 stars and found some of them very challenging (good luck finishing the 'Turret Love' level, for example).

How to install levels

I'm not an expert at this yet, but once you've downloaded and extracted the maps you want to try, there are two places you can place the levels, based on their file extension.

Go to ...\Steam\steamapps\common\portal 2\portal2\

Files with a *.bsp extension go into the 'maps' folder (keep a note of the filename somewhere - i.e. in a Steam chat so you can bring it up in game)

Files with a *.vpk extension go into a folder called 'addons' (which you probably have to create) (i.e. common\portal 2\portal2\addons\*.vpk)

If there are other files, then these are likely the source files that you can open and edit with the Hammer editor (see Steam Tools, where you can download Dedicated Server apps to find it).

How to load the levels

If there's a ReadMe file included with your downloads, it's best to read through them quickly, but the general procedure is as follows.

Restart Portal 2 if it was already running (it checks for files when you start it).

Go to Options and find the setting to enable the Console, and bind a key to show/hide it. I have it bound to my ` key (above the TAB key).